h1

I’m Girl Gone Wild and I’m Pit-a-full

March 9, 2007

bbc2.jpg

“Get Out of That Pit” 

This book.  This stinkin’ book has completely run off with my dignity.  (And yes, I did have some.)  Everywhere I turn I see pits.  I’m in a pit (many actually).  Joe Blow’s in a pit.  I even told the greeter at Wal-mart she was in a pit!  A Wal-mart greeter, ya’ll!!

I haven’t been this sucked into a book since Frank Peretti’s books, This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness.  I swear…I could see sulfur smoke coming from people’s heads!  I drove my mother up. the. wall!  She would be talking to the “wacky” lady of the church and I’d sneak up behind her and whisper, “I smell sulfur”.  I could feel THE look!

Hmmm…where was I.

Beth had me completely wrapped in the Introduction.  I love how bottom-line she can be, and still be gentle.  It was strange to catagorize my pits.  At first I was shocked that I was in a pit, then finding out I was in more than one pit was almost too much for me.  Just as I was about to sink into a pit about being in a pit, she talked about how to get out.  I LOVE IT!  Cry out, Confess, and Consent!

I had no idea how many Scriptures talked about pits.  I mean, God’s trying to tell us something, people! 

Over all I was estatic about the book.  Beth was so transparent.  It was a breath of fresh air to hear her straight-forward talk.  It was, “It’s God’s way or no way, sister”  and that’s the kind of talk I get.

A must read.  Head on over to Robin’s (BooMama and Robin are the creators of the BBC) for more thoughts on this book.

13 comments

  1. Ok, I am totally laughing out loud about you telling a person at Wal-mart they are in a pit! I’m with you about looking all around and suddenly seeing all of the pits I was in. And, it would have been completely overwhelming except Beth put out that “it’s not you it’s Him” thing. I feel better now.

    Hope you’ll join us on the next book club!


  2. Hi!

    I liked Beth’s refreshing style too. And I love your blog! Nice to meet ya.


  3. I love your Wal Mart story too, I found myself doing the same thing, “Yep, that one is in a pit for sure…” Oh, then I had to repent because that could be me 🙂 Your post is too funny! I love your design as well, thanks for stopping by!


  4. Love your site, it’s beautiful! I’m with you – I picked this book up thinking it couldn’t possibly be relevant to my life and found myself cut down to size pretty quickly. How gracious God is to use things like this at just the right time to remind us how much we need Him! Have a great day.


  5. I totaly forgot about those 3C’s! Cryout…Confess…Concent! Thanks for the reminder!


  6. I LOVED the “Darkness” books by Frank Peretti too! I saw one of them in the hands of my 15 year old just yesterday as she has decided to read them. (She does similar things to her mother!)
    I didn’t think this book would have the impact it did. I am so glad that it did!


  7. This was my first “Beth” book and I was hooked! You’re right – I see pits EVERYWHERE! Thankfully, there are those prayers that will help see me through. Here the journey begins… 🙂


  8. Reading everyone’s thoughts just reminds me of bits and pieces that I loved about this book…this is such a wonderful idea, sharing our thoughts…which is why I love discussing books with others!


  9. What a catchy title for a blog! I’ve heard something similar before, but I can’t quite remember where. Just kidding. I must agree this was a great book, and very eye opening. I love the fact that Beth gave us such a great plan for overcoming those pits that seem to never go away. Wasn’t this a fun discussion. You did a great job!


  10. Loved your post! I’ve been too focused on what the book meant for me personally to think about labeling others. Girl, you got spunk 😉


  11. You had me at “pit-a-full” – too funny.

    And oh – “I smell sulfur.”

    I loved the transparency, too – and I was convicted and encouraged all at the same time.

    Thanks for doing this with us! (and “creators” is a strong word for what Robin and I did, but I’ll take it in case I never need to put a blurb on a resume’ or something) 🙂


  12. I always love Beth Moore. I’ll have to take a look at this sometime. Thanks for stopping in during the party. Yes, I am STILL catching up!


  13. Hello,
    Just stopping by to ‘discuss’ the book club book. I really enjoyed reading your notes. I too am a multiple pit dweller, but not for long. Here’s to heading up and out, hanging on to God’s robe!

    ~TaunaLen



Leave a Reply

