h1

This day just sucks…

April 19, 2007

Man…I was not prepared for today.  Usually Thursdays are a very relaxing day as it’s my man’s day off.  Today has NOT been relaxing (ok…lunch doesn’t count…that was great…I needed laughs and boy did I get it!)

I’ve told some of you about Rivka (my choco lab) losing a lot of weight.  Well, this week she started throwing up every. single. meal.  Took her into the doc this morning only to find out ($300 later!!!) that it looks like she has a fast growing cancer of the stomach lining.  There are sections of her stomach lining that is an inch thick.

So basically she’s starving to death.  She gets hungry, eats, then throws it up as there’s not enough room in her stomach.  The vet wants to do a $1500 surgical procedure…that is just out of the question.  Rivka is almost 9 years old  and we DEFINITELY don’t have that kind of money.  It’s just so weird to hear, cause she’s so spunky right now and looks great!  We’re just going to try to keep her as comfortable as possible, feed her smaller portions more often until she just can’t eat anymore.  For the month of April, she’s been our offering container at KidPoint (church) – I’m going to go ahead and let her finish out the month if she can…she loves those kids!

I had to put down my baby, Shanti (English Springer) 1 1/2 years ago but it feels like I just did it.  I don’t want to go through this again!

I dread telling the boys…..

5 comments

  1. Oh I’m very sorry, this is terrible! I will be thinking of you and praying for Rivka this evening. I’ve been through it a few times, I understand. It sounds like you’re an amazing owner/friend to your dog, she knows that. Let me know what I can do for you. ~Stacey


  2. I am so sorry…..I know how hard this is to deal with!
    I’ll be thinking and praying for you
    Blessings


  3. Oh hon. I’m so sorry. ((hugs))


  4. ((GIRL)) I am so sorry! I know how hard this much be on you. I have been there before. I will pray for you all!


  5. We went through this with our lab mix, she was 13 years old, and had cancer. Like you, we couldn’t afford the treatment, so we brought her home to die at home with us around her, in her bed. I bawled for days. My oldest still gets teary eyed when he talks about her.



Leave a Reply

