h1

WFMW – Tick removal

May 30, 2007

WFMW

Summer season means tick season.  It’s the Missouri way!  Usually we get the nail polish remover out and start sufficating the little booger out.  For our boys that’s a problem because they both have sensitive skin.

A few weeks ago a friend told me about a safer way of removing those repulsive critters (I love ’em, can’t ya tell?).  I got a chance to try it out on myself just the other day and it worked WAY better.

Take a cotton ball and put any liquid soap on it and rub it all over the tick.  Hold the cotton ball on the tick for about 20 seconds or so and when you remove the cotton ball, the tick will have it’s nasty little head out and will be clinging to the cotton ball for dear life!  Apparently it can’t breathe through the soap.  No stinging, no pain and works for those hard to reach areas.

Isn’t that great?!  Also, with Lyme’s Disease running rampant, don’t forget to check the place where the tick was within 12-24 hours after the head comes out.  If there’s a bull’s eye around the spot go see your doctor immediately!!

 That’s my tip for this Wednesday…head on over to Shannon’s for gobs more.

4 comments

  1. Thats an awesome tip! Thanks! I know we just found a tick on Daisy, (one of my dogs) so I really should keep an eye out on the boys.

    Take care!


  2. I’ve heard that too–don’t let me forget when I need it! xo Gidget


  3. Great tip! We DO see ticks here in East Texas – but thankfully not so much as in some other parts of the state.


  4. Excellent advice! I will remember this but hope I won’t have to put it into practice.



Leave a Reply

