h1

Gack! My blogging story??

June 11, 2007

 Chilihead is holding a cool ‘little’ blogging carnival today.  Someone was asking her about her blogging story and thought it would be a great way for people to get to know other bloggers so she opened it up for everyone.  Below is my blogging story:

  • How did you start blogging?  Originally it was because my family was so spread out that it was a great way for us all to communicate with each other.  Now I have a separate one open to the public.
  • Did you intend to be a blog w/a following? If so, how did you go about it? No…I had NO idea the blogging phenomenon that was out there.  It was an amazing discovery.
  • What do you hope to achieve or accomplish with your blog? I’m just a woman who shares thoughts and ideas that other people might have as well.  Have you been successful? Yes, I guess…it doesn’t take much for me to blab on and on to strangers and friends a like!  I think I’m pretty good at listening too since I find myself reading more and more blogs lately.  There are some really interesting people out there!  
  • Has the focus of your blog changed since you started blogging? How?  Not really.  I may be changing a few things since I’ve been able to get “into the groove” of blogging in general.
  • What do you know now that you wish you’d known when you started?  How much time it takes to keep the readers coming. You can’t miss a day!  Also, I’m really surprised by the ratio of lurkers vs. commenters.  It’s like pulling eye teeth to get people to show they’re there.  Then again maybe my feeder numbers are all wacked!
  • Do you make money with your blog?  HA!  Yeah…right… Nope.
  • Does your immediate or extended family know about your blog? If so, do they read it? If not, why? Yes, they know, but they don’t comment.  They’d rather just call me and give me an earful (“I beg you’re pardon…we were NOT officially white trash!”  Love you mum!)
  • What two pieces of advice would you give to a new blogger?  1) This will take so much of your time, so be prepared.  2) You will get negative comments.  Don’t let this get to you.  As with every person you come across live, you need to chew up the meat and spit out the bones.  People can be stupid and you can always envision them locked up in a room with 30 screaming 2 year olds with no toys, snacks or clean diapers!
  • I’m sure there will be a ton more blogging stories so head on over to Chili’s and get to know some more bloggers.  That’s where I’ll be today….

    4 comments

    1. This is a great idea. I should do one. I know I said this about a Tag you did…LOL speaking Tags.. I Tagged you!

      will have to go back and read the tag you did to me and do it. LOL
      Hope your weekend was a Great one!

      Take care


    2. Heck yes I got something fun….good thought, I’ll photograph them later; my best finds were three mugs by that one folk artist….awww I can’t remember his name now….I hate this..anyway, they were rooster mugs. I know, I’m not very “happening” but I LIKE his work, whatever his name is..Robert something something something(they’re in the dishwasher now)..you know he did the folk art cows way back when and they were very popular. Oh and a slide projector in case I ever get to see my childhood slides again that my brother-in-law keeps hostage in DC (long story) xo


    3. Warren Kimble–the rooster mugs!


    4. This is great! Thanks for visiting.



    Leave a Reply

