h1

Oh I’m just getting started

July 6, 2007

I was lurking around today and came across Karen’s blog PediaScribe.  I’m a new lurker at her site, but lo and behold, she’s having a contest!  It’s spa stuff ya’ll!  But she’s going to make me work for it.  The deal-y is I have to write about a time where my kids made me all dirty.  That’s funky but I’m game!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Time: Hell hot in the year of 2001
Scene: Metal oven called a trailer on Erie Lake, Ohio
Story:  We were hanging out with some friends in their trailer.  OldMan (1 year old at the time) was supposed to have been taking a nap in his playpen/crib in a guest room.  We did this every Sunday like clock work.  We’d put the kids down for their naps, then play Euchre all afternoon. About 30-45 minutes into our game, I caught this whiff.  I immediately looked at my husband and gave him a dirty look.  He, of course, gave me a look like, “WHAT!?”  The smell was getting stronger and it was obvious that our friends had caught the smell too.  One of our kids had crapped their pants and if we can smell it in the living room?…it’s wasn’t going to be pretty.

Of course I had to take control of the situation cause 1) we all knew it was my kid…there was a history and 2) the guys were too busy guffawing all over themselves on the floor to be of any help.

I died ya’ll…I just died.  I walked into that room and I found my precious ball of joy sitting in the corner of his playpen, digging into his diaper and smearing it all over his hair, clothes and playpen.  He grinned at me and said, “Paint!”

I’ve never seen so much poop in my life.  My mind was going 90-to-nothin’ trying to conjure up a solution for cleaning up this disaster area (let alone how to get the stench out). Our friends didn’t have a water hose and there was no way this pen was going to fit in their shower.  All we had were towels and wipees.

Do you know how stinkin’ hard it is to get poop out of mesh netting??  The visual I get of myself leaning over that playpen scrubing with all my might, totally embarrassed for the smell my child made, and too stubborn to find it funny at the time, is nauseating.  I obviously was a first time mom, cause now I’m thinking, “Why in the world didn’t I just pitch the dang thing!”

No doing. By the I was done scrubbing I had poop everywhere.  I even had crusties on my eyelashes.  I’ve done a lot of cave crawling, but bat guano has NOTHING on little boys’ paint jobs.

15 comments

  1. Okay okay I cannot trump your hell hot in a metal oven trailer story. I will, however, find one contest I CAN win. Nice layout Gigi. Mmmmhmmm. It won’t win you anything, you know this right? xoxoxoxox


  2. What’s up with the comments first? It’s almost like saying “hey, comment me then you get to read my stuff” Well guess what? I read your stuff first! xo


  3. Gross, but I think I may have something that will beat that.


  4. Ewwww….that’s a really gross story! Good luck in the contest! 🙂


  5. Gigi, if you do the tee contest (it really is a nice little tee) then beware, Pilot John HIMSELF actually reads these posts and emails you. So if you mention he’s a cutie, yeah, he’ll read it alright. Very diplomatically, he said I was entered and my post was very funny, but pretty sure that translates to ‘you are insane, old lady’. ~Gidget


  6. LOL you girls and your contests. LOL

    I am lost on your new layout here GiGi, this is why I never did change over to WordPress, I have a blog there, but I can’t figure out the layouts LOL. hard to get rid of my cafe girl on blogger.

    Good luck girls.


  7. Okay, Gi, you may have my secret weapon but there are more, I tell you.

    And…come get the Schmoozer Award while you’re busy checking into my blog winnings. Hey that’s a win, you can count that. But I won it first! Muahahahahahah! xo


  8. Overcome by emotion in a Yiddish way you say? Hmm….get over her and gimme a big ole neck hug!

    PS–repost because I’m kinda dominating this comments section!


  9. Mmmmmmmmmmmm… spa stuff!! Hey, is that a new look on your blog??? It must be. Very fun.


  10. Wow, that’s a really good poop story. I hope you win!


  11. […] Girl Gone Wild submits Oh I’m just getting started. […]


  12. Okay, this is the first entry I’m reading (after Karen’s, of course… but then, hers isn’t an entry, so yeah… I was right, after all) and I have to tell you I’ve been there, done that and it is no fun. AND, the other contestants are going to be hard pressed. Off to read some more 🙂

    Have a good one


  13. That’s horrific! You may have beaten me there!


  14. All I can say is… YUCK!! 😉


  15. […] just awhile back I wrote up a story of when OldMan painted his poop all over the mesh on his playpen?  Well, it earned me a spot to win that Spa collection.  Here’s the dealio…you need […]



Leave a Reply

