h1

WFMW – Clay pots

July 11, 2007

WFMW          100_1406.jpg

I absolutely LOVE using clay pots to plant flowers.  However, in the nasty months of summer (starting now!) it gets so hot that the clay steals the moisture from the plants, making it very hard to keep watered.

This year I sprayed Thompson’s Water Sealer on the inside of the pots to protect from moisture loss.  It really works.  Although the past couple of days it’s rained so much that it’s drowning these poor babies (above pic).

I had never heard of this tip until this past spring and sure as shootin’ on the back of the can of the Sealer it’s listed clay pots as one of the things to spray.

That’s what works for me!  Head on over to Shannon’s for some more WFMW goodies.

5 comments

  1. I’m a huge fan of container gardening…I’ll definitely use this one!


  2. Great tip for the hot climates…
    your pot of flowers looks lush!


  3. Yeah I coulda used that one–mine on the porch, pretty much goners!

    Comment hogs? Was that a snort I heard over there?


  4. This is an awesome idea! Thanks for sharing! I’ll definitely be trying it out. Not now though, cuz right now, we need rain.


  5. Tsk tsk tsk….Gigi, I am not done contesting, I’m merely waiting for you to catch up. Unless, of course, you don’t think you can….

    The Gidge



Leave a Reply

