h1

Mass exitious

July 14, 2007

crazy-woman.jpg

 I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this, but I’m a recovering Graver.  Sounds kinda cool huh?  Well, it’s not so much.  I used to have Graves Disease (hyperthyroidism to the max), but in the process of fixing that I went the other way to hypothyroid.  In case you are the few that don’t have some sort of thyroid problem, congratulations from staying out of thyroid hell.  There is much weeping and gnashing of teeth here.  I was just griping to with my husband (for the gazillionth time) about symptoms and whether I was taking my daily pill or just out-right lying about it; then I came across Beth’s (I should be folding laundry) post about the exact same issues.  She explains it perfectly (and very hilariously). She’s doing the right thing by getting her hormone levels checked.  I, however, just want to wait until August (physical exam).  My husband and children seem to think I might not live to see August if I don’t stop crabbin’ at them!  That is a bit of a motivator!

On a side note…I may be a bit scarce next week.  Mum’s mastectomy is on monday and my brother, Hulkman, will be staying with me during the week.  I also have to have meals ready for my folks as my dad’s cooking is well….let’s just say he checks to see if the oil is hot by using his finger.  I think my mum is sick enough…we don’t need to add to her injuries!

10 comments

  1. You’re mom is in my prayers, Gigi. Try and update us if you can, but I completely understand. Your parents are quite proud of you I am sure; sounds like you step up to the plate!

    I’m a hypo myself. Take a Levoxyl once a day along with about 30 other things–went from never even owning Tylenol to needing a little pill holder. Scratch…big pill holder! Sucks a lot. xo


  2. I will definitely keep you, your mom, and the rest of your family in my prayers!


  3. I have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. Thanks for the link. I forget that it can impact my weight. **whew**


  4. I too have Hypothyroidism. Mine is pregnancy related. I went way too long with out going to the Doctor for meds. But now that I am taking them I feel like a new person. Last week I forgot my pill for three days straight, I couldn’t hardly drag my butt around the house on day three…PRAISE GOD FOR SYNTHROID!!! :o)


  5. and your mom and your family is still in my prayers. Take care.


  6. Hey GiGi, will keep your mother AND you in my thoughts and prayers!

    Take Care!!!


  7. I am thinking of your mom today, and hoping everything goes well for her.

    I’m sorry you are in thyroid hell. I hope you soon escape its wrath!

    Jane, P&B Girls


  8. Gigi, hoping you find a minute to quickly update us–still praying for you all. But no worries, we know it’s a hectic time, I’ll just keep checking in. xoxo


  9. checking in also! I pray all is going well!

    Take care!


  10. Your family is in my prayers. {{{hugs}}}



Leave a Reply

