h1

Out of the writings of babes

July 26, 2007

We are almost done with the construction of our new facilities at church.  It’s been exciting to see it’s progress.  So last night we took some time during our Wednesday night service to go to the new sactuary and write scripture on the floor where the carpet will be laid.  There were many writings that touched my heart but some just completely choked me up.

Near the platform a lady wrote, “I don’t know any scriptures yet, but I’m so thankful that my son brought me to a church that I’ve been trying to find my whole life.  I believe.”  That’s what it’s about people….

The other thing that got to me is the scriptures that I found all over the sanctuary floor in kids handwriting.  They were the memory verses that they’ve been learning in their small groups:

“I know what it is to be in need and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation. Phil. 4:12a”

“If you really want to become wise, you must begin by having respect for the Lord. Prov. 9:10”

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not man. Colo. 3:23”

6 comments

  1. The son bringing his mom to a church where she finally felt at home–very cool! That IS what it’s all about!


  2. This is so cool! What a great idea writing scripture under the carpet. Standing on the promises, right?


  3. Okay Gigi, you suck eggs! Just like you to go and post something inspiring, sweet, amazing when really I came here to pinch you! Pilot John will NEVER I say NEVER believe you…I’m his favorite. But…did you see that he was doing a new contest, did you enter? Because if you did, you could have one too (as if you’d even touch the coolness of my photos-ha!).

    xo The Gidge


  4. WOW. When we put up new dry wall, we wrote scripture all over the walls before they were done. It was an amazing experience.


  5. That’s very cool! Love the idea of the verses on the floor.


  6. I love that idea! I really love what the woman wrote about her son. Makes you step back and rethink things a bit.



Leave a Reply

