h1

WFMW ~ Fix-It Couch

August 1, 2007

WFMW 

This week’s WFMW is about parenting advice.

Well, I have no room to give advice but I have learned one thing that seems to work with my boys.  Now that they’re older.

Like typical siblings, sometimes they get all fired up about their own plans/ideas and aren’t willing to listen to anyone else.  The voices get louder and if I don’t step in it usually ends up into an all round brawl.  My 4 yo can easily ‘whop’ up on my 7 yo so I try to stop it so my older son doesn’t get humiliated.

I put them on the “Fix-It” Couch, facing each other and they have to sit there and TALK it out until they come to some kind of conclusion.  They know sometimes they just have to agree to disagree and play something else.  The most important thing is that they’re learning how to talk it out vs. shouting/hitting it out.

They also can’t get off the couch until both parties are happy with the turn out.  Sometimes I get involved, but I try not to so that they learn to communicate with each other.  They usually do a better job than I could anyway!

Head on over to Shannon’s at Rocks In My Dryer for more deep parental advice….

3 comments

  1. That sounds like a great idea! Communication is key in every relationship… maybe spouses need to go on the “Fix-It” Couch sometimes too!

    Jane, P&B Girls


  2. Now why didn’t I think it that! Good mommies think of good things like this! xo


  3. Wow, that really is an awesome idea, I think I am going to try this!!! I agree with Jane also, Hubby and I could use the fix-it couch also.

    Great idea GiGi!



Leave a Reply

