h1

WhiteWater and WhiteTrash

August 3, 2007

I’ve had this “deal” with Oldman and his hair.  He told me at the beginning of summer that he wanted to grow his hair out so he can surf.  Riiiiiight.  No big dealio to me.  God gave the boy the most beautiful, thick, straight hair I’ve ever seen and he looks GREAT in his little guy-shag.  Now days it’s been gettin’ a little too long and covering his eyes.  So the deal was, take him to White Water then I get to trim (heavy on the word trim) his hair.

Now I know that some of you are thinking, “Get?  Who’s in charge?”  My belief is battles are to be thought out and picked at precise moments.  I really don’t care so much on what he wants to do with his hair and how he dresses.  He is too Type A to look like a nerd.  It’s one area I feel comfortable letting him learn about decision making.

Thursday we finally made it to White Water.  We had a blast!  It was crowded but not too the point of obnoxiousness.  I was worried about walking around in my moo moo swimsuit, but MAN…let’s just say I didn’t have to worry about a thing (unless I wanted to compare myself with all the little 16 year olds)!

We stayed for several hours then piled back into the van to drive through BackYard Burgers then got on the highway to head back home.  Everyone was in high spirits, we were laughing and …….BANG…..  the fun was over.  Our brand new transmission decided to stop working with much gusto!  Thankfully we were able to coast to the off ramp next to a Visitor’s Bureau Center.  Thankfully my dad was home and able to come pick us up.  Thankfully it was only 98.9 degrees.  Thankfully….I guess that was it….no more thankfuls.

J was so mad that I think he actually could have picked that van up and chucked it across lanes.

Here’s what makes it so funny to me.  On Wednesday night, one of the pastors was speaking about opening your doors to minister to everyone, not just someone who is popular, well-off, etc.  He kept using this imaginary family as a point in his devotions.  This family has unruley kids, smells like they take their weekly bath in Fellow’s Lake (local lake) and drives this mini-van that’s beat up with wood panelling going down the side and should be impounded just by the look of it.  Do you see where this is going?  Yep, that van he is describing is our van.  It’s a hand-me-down and it’s free.  Out of all 1500 people that go to our church, I believe we are the only ones that have this kind of van.

J is speaking in a couple of weeks and I believe he’s going to start out by saying, “I just LOVE the days when I get to get up here on this platform and speak to ya’ll cause that means it’s bathing day at Fellows!”

One comment

  1. ROFLMAO! <(did I do that right?) THAT’s funny, Gi. Your church sounds quite like ours….Jesus hung with the ‘untouchables’ didn’t he. You have wooden panels on your van? Oh well, I knew you weren’t cool anyway. But hey, my Explorer is only five years old and I just had to put a new transmition in it a few weeks back–so guess you’re the one laughin at ME, huh!

    Okay….prefer Whitewater of Ripley’s Believe it or not? I mean is WW really worth all that extra money or would a nice hotel pool and the fun museum be a good day too? Need to know before next week. (and aren’t you a plethera of advertisement up there…what’re you doing, going professional on us?) xo



Leave a Reply

