h1

Song…song of the south, sweet potato pie and I shut my mouth

October 9, 2007

Overwhelmed with Joy is having her 2nd annual Holiday Cooking, Blogger Style recipe exchange.  You wouldn’t believe the food these people eat over the holidays!!!  Good grief…It’s going to take me all year to try every one of them (and yes, I will!).

 J’s aunt makes the chef’s on the Food Network look like a bunch of pansies!  My very favorite dish of hers is her Sweet Potato Pie Casserole.

YUM!

This is what I’ll be fixing for Thanksgiving this year.

I have to tell you that this week on the Food Network I saw this chicky-mama make Sweet Pototo Pie and served it for dessert!!!  Have you ever heard of such nonsense?!  Honey…you don’t serve Shepherd’s Pie for dessert do you???  Girl, SPP is meant to go on your plate next to a huge slab of turkey, a mountain of buttermilk mashed potatoes, and a glob of green bean casserole!  Amateur…

 2 (40oz) cans of sweet pot, drained
1 stick of melted butter (Oh Jesus, take the wheel…)
2 eggs
1/2 c. evaporated milk
3/4 c. sugar
1 t. vanilla

Mash potatoes with masher.  Slightly beat eggs and add to potatoes.  Add rest of ingredients and mix well together.  Put in a greased 9×13 dish.

Topping:
1 c. brown sugar packed
1/3 c. softened butter
1/2 c. flour
1 c. pecans

Mix ingredients together and crumble on top of the sweet pot. mixture.  Bake @ 350 for 45 minutes to an hour.

And, dear Lord, don’t serve it for dessert.  That’s what pumpkin pie is for!

One comment

  1. I’m sooo gonna try this one and I’ll even photograph it for ya! Heck if you’re here right after TGIVING, I’ll save you some. You can judge it for me.



Leave a Reply

