h1

Would you Deja Vu??

November 1, 2007

I recently watched the movie Deja Vu.  Yes, I’m always behind when it comes to movies.  It really intrigued me…got me thinking.

For those of you who haven’t seen it….it’s basically about a tragedy that killed hundreds of people and the government accidently found a way to bend time so they can see the in past as it is happening.  After a bunch of twists and turns, Denzel Washington decides to go back in time to catch the bad guy before he blows up all these people. 

The whole deal was…should he do it to save all these people knowing that it most likely would change the course of history.

So would you?  If you could go back, one time, any time….would you?

When would you go back?  Why would you go back?

My first reaction was HECK YEAH!  I’d go back and warn myself about “something”…wait, no…I’d warn my parents.

But if I did, I wouldn’t be me today.  Remember, we are who we are because of the experiences we’ve gone through…good or bad.  I kind of like who I am right now.  It’s been a long hard road, but I’m finally happy with me.

And what if I did warn somebody to save a person and that caused more people to get hurt or worse yet, killed?

Obviously God has set time in motion and that motion is forward.

…but, would you go back?

3 comments

  1. I have always wondered. I think sometimes that I would go and change so and so things. But I am never sure. Hubs and I have had conversations about this. In hindsight we can say if we had done that, this would have happened. But it is not for us to know. There are a hundred different possibilities for the outcome of each decision. Butterfly Effect, anyone?

    So (on a personal level) in the end I think I am happy to be what I am today in spite of the mistakes and bad decisions. “My times are in His hands” Oh, I haven’t seen the movie either, maybe I will watch now.


  2. Of course, at first you think that you’d love to go back and change something.

    But, I completely agree with your last few thoughts and points.

    I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, and, sometimes, we may not even see or realize that reason for a very long time after something happens. So, even though terrible or tragic things happen, I do believe that there is some reason. What is meant to be, only God knows.


  3. Gi you’re going anylitical on me and this hurts my head! Okay, hang on (btw, I haven’t seen this either–heck I’m still not around to Harry/Sally)

    If I could….well I WAS gonna say heck yeah, I think I’ll ask my dad for a copy of his will because his wife took EVERYthing (he trusted the old bitty). I was angry beyond words for a long time. But then you went and wrote what you wrote about liking yourself.

    Based on that, I can’t answer really. I like me now too–I’ve learned to forge ahead and I’ve learned friends really are my sisters too. I’ve got a few sisters more than I started out with, yourself included. I think I still would, but idk. Yeah, I would. I’d like me and I’d know my kids inherited what their PaPa intended them to inherit. Final!

    I gotta run, I didn’t think about me being at the bottom of the Hillary list, I’m going into seclusion for awhile. Signed…… tegdiG



Leave a Reply

