h1

Pooh Bear

November 12, 2007

pooh-rumbly-2006.jpg

Most everyone can look back at their childhood and think of a t.v. show or book that made a huge impression in their mind.  For me it was Winnie the Pooh.  I was so enthralled with Pooh that I grew up being called either Jenny Pooh or Pooh Bear.  As a matter of fact, my grandmother still calls me Pooh Bear.  And I cherish that.

This past summer Disney came out with an all new Pooh Bear and I was really hurt by it.  What’s wrong with the old Pooh?!  He taught me lessons on how to share, care and treat others the way I want to be treated.  How can you improve on that?

This new Pooh has made a new friend…a girl named Darby and her dog, Buster.  What happened to Christopher?!  At first I thought, ‘How cool!  Christopher has introduced his daughter Darby to his silly old bear.”  But alas…no such luck.

It’s just another kid with a cartooned bear called Pooh. 

Gremlin LOVES the intro song and begs me daily to let him watch it.  I felt like I was cheating on my Pooh Bear, but I sat down and watched it with him one day.

Much to my shagrin, it’s a cute little show.  They solve clues together, which is right up Gremlin’s alley.

{…sigh….}  Silently I said a farewell to my dear old friend.

But guess what Gremlin’s watching this morning?  MY old bear.  For Movie Time Monday, Disney is showing all The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh.  Right in the middle of Pooh sorting through a honey pot problem Gremlin looked up at me and said, “Mom, I see why you love this Pooh.  He’s wonderful!”

That’s all I needed to hear, Gremlin.

4 comments

  1. And Piglet, and Eeyore, and Tigger, and Rabbit, and Owl… LOVE LOVE LOVE them ALL!!!


  2. Oh wait… I forgot Roo too!


  3. You know, Gi, while you can’t believe you posted the Pooh Bear identity, let me tell you I’ve been thinking Pooh all evening. Here’s the Pooh story in my life (don’t we all have one?)—wait, I think I’m going to blog my own Pooh story and link to this one. But let me just tell you I still have him, still bring him out sometimes when I’m lonely. Got him at 6 years old. Just like my sister Jamee and then my little sister Antoinette–we all three had one.

    Pooh is one of the few ‘tangible’ memories I have of my childhood. So Miss Jenny Pooh Bear, thanks for bringing this up today…gotta get to sleep..where IS that bear?!


  4. PS–when is Halloween? Did I miss Halloween? It’s not like it’s on the same DANG day every year is it?



Leave a Reply

