h1

Boyfriend Bob

November 28, 2007

That’s right…when I was 3-4 yrs old my imaginary friend’s name was Boyfriend Bob.  He always let me ride my catepillar inch-worm rider first.  He was the best boyfriend ever!

I remembered Boyfriend Bob the other day when I overheard Gremlin talking to all his “friends”.  It sounds like he had a whole herd of ’em in his room. 

OldMan had 2 very faithful friends:  Boy (who was a boy…shocker) and Kid (who was a girl).  Boy and Kid were great companions for OldMan up through Kindergarten.  I ended up having the conversation with him about moving on from his dear friends.

Gremlin’s been playing with his friends for about 6 months now.  He has so many I had to sit down with him and write it all down:

Big kid (boy)
T.D. (girl)
T.D. Bo-bah (boy)
Bo-Bay (girl)
Gi-bah (boy, but he’s at school.  He’s also 255 yrs old and irritates people.)

Apparently, he requires a crowd.  I asked him, “Are you sure about their gender?”

“Yep…that’s what they look like.”

Oh.  Right.  Sure. 

As goofy as those names are, he never changes them and is quite adament about who is who (or whom is whom…HELLO!…I live in the Ozarks.)

Apparently I was much more simple-minded when it came to my imaginary friend.  There was only one.  He was loyal, thought the stars hung in my eyes, and treated me like a lady.  And it took me over 20 years to find another like that.  Except he’s not imaginary!

So I’m curious, who was your imaginary friend?

4 comments

  1. Ahhhh Gremlin sounds fantastic!!!

    My imaginary friends were Sandy, Jahosaphat (see, I can’t even spell his darn name), and Becky (Ironically, my best friend from 4th grade until now is a real live “Becky”!). My grandma was sweet enough to set extra chairs at the dinner table for them in the evening 😉


  2. Misty – Your Gma is so dang cool! Uhmmm…Jahosaphat?? hee, hee.


  3. My 4 yo has Abraham and Boy, and two cats Wolfie and Serafina. I don’t remember if I had any…


  4. Re: deleted comment from “watcher” – Shame on you, Famous Bro, for breaking the blogging rules you and I talked about.

    If this wasn’t from Famous Bro, then still shame on you for being someone’s irritating brother. If you’re a lurker, then try voicing your comments with just a little less testosterone.



Leave a Reply

