h1

Bottled tears

December 14, 2007

I was attending a dear friend’s funeral years ago, when the preacher said that it has been scientifically proven that each type of tear is chemically different from the rest.  A tear of joy is built different than a tear of pain.  That just spoke to me because when I see someone cry I always visualize God catching each and every one of those tears and keeping them in a jar. 

And I’ve kept God busy this week.

Wednesday night my husband was fired from his position at the church.  There was no moral failure nor was there any other type of unethical acts from my husband.  But it just wasn’t a “fit”.  We saw it coming but not like this and not 2 weeks before Christmas.  They want to help us through the holidays but even that comes with stipulations.

So that’s the hurtful and painful side of it.  The amazing side is we’ve had a day and half to see God move in ways that we so desperately needed to see.  We needed Him to get in our face and tell us, “I know…..let me take care of you.”  We really had no idea just how many people loved us at the church.  We have many friends there, but we’ve never really had the chance to sit down and take account of ALL our blessings.  The phone calls have been overwhelming.  We have literally spent almost every waking (and some not so waking) hour on the phone with concerned people.  We’ve actually ended up having to encourage a lot of them to keep their focus on God and not on this situation.  We are rich with friendships and personally, I’ve never been in that situation.

I came on and checked my blog today and was floored by the comments!  Your kind words and prayers have physically brought me to my knees.  I now know just how much it means for people to receive words of encouragement on their blogs while going through challanges.  Thank you so much for teaching me that very valuable lesson.

I have no idea what we will do next but for right now we will be spending time with family and friends and enjoying the holidays…..focusing our thoughts on anything and everything but us.

And for me I get a chance to work on my new blog, and I’m WAY past due on adding some good Stacey and Cat photo’s on here.  So come on back tomorrow and I’ll have that up….I’m ready to put my bottled tears up for awhile and just have some fun.

11 comments

  1. well my dear, I know EXACTLY what it feels like to be in your position because it happened to us a couple years ago. My husband was fired for the same reason. We ended up being homeless and jobless for a summer living in our tent trailer and then at my mom’s apartment (family of 4 plus my mom and her roommate in a two bedroom apt!). My sons’ were 2 and 8 months at the time. I had post partum depression and a thyroid disorder. It was horrible.

    But you’re right. God DOES see our tears and He DOES care and HE takes care of us! We had a new job before the weather got cold and before our credit cards were completely maxed out (barely) and we are still in our new church.
    I know how tough it is to go through. I will pray that God leads you to somewhere AMAZING where you will be surrounded by people who love you.


  2. GiGi no they did NOT fire him Wednesday night! Are you KIDDING ME? Okay the meanie beanie in me is getting very fired up right now…and I’m not gonna call because you’re overwhelmed (but you can call whenEVER you like).

    I’m overjoyed to read, however, that you’re receiving the support and care and concern that you so richly deserve. You already know those are the folks to hang tight with–the ones who see evil and do nothing, well you know my stand on that. They are just as bad as the one who did wrong in the first place. These are the times you’ll see the amazing love of God wrap His arms around you–even when you don’t feel so much like He is doing so.

    I’ll leave you with this: No double chins, no big pores! (hee!) Love you to death, Gi girl. xoxo


  3. I’m so sorry your going though all of this and at christmas time also.. (((((HUGS)))))
    Some time back our Pastor passed a little card out to everyone with this printed on it. It has helped me though alot of things in my life. I hope it will be a help and encouragement to you all. And know you and your family are in my prayers.

    In Time of Trouble Say…….

    >first- God brought me here; it is by His will I am in this strait place: In That I will rest

    > Next- He will keep me in His love, and give me grace in this trial to behave as His Child

    >Then- He will make the trial a blessing, teaching me the lessons He intended me to learn, and working in me the grace He means to bestow.

    >Last- In His good time He can bring me out again- how and when He knows

    Then We Can Safely Say: I am Here-

    1. By God’s appointment

    2. In His keeping

    3. Under His training

    4. For His time

    by. Andrew Murray

    “offer unto God thanksgiving; and pay thy vows unto the most High: And call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee and thou shalt glorify me.” (Psalm 50:14-15)


  4. I feel like putting my arm around your shoulder, and singing the Laverne and Shirley theme! We’re in this together!

    Schlemeel, schlemazel, hasenfeffer incorporated!!!

    You know if you change a few words in that song, it’s quite spiritual!


  5. I am so sorry you’re having to go through this. It’s always hard, but especially this time of year. However, I am happy that your family has received so much love & support. It really makes you see what’s important. And shows how loved ya’ll are. God has a plan. I hope He shows it to you soon.


  6. Gigi,

    I just heard the horrible news. Please let Jay know I’m praying for him and you too of course. I know that God will open a new door – don’t lose hope. I can only imagine the pain and maybe some worry. I find strength in knowing that God feeds the birds (Luke 12:22-26).

    Love you guys,
    John.


  7. Wow, I know how devastating disappointment can feel. But you are so positive and focusing your energy and thoughts on God at this time. He reveals what He wants us to see in His timing. The blessings of Christmas will see you through the transition and it sounds like you have the people in your life to support you. The doors will open. Blessings to you and your family.


  8. Oh, I am so sorry to hear this news! Please know that you are in my thoughts and prayers!

    When we were going through our mess last year this scripture helped keep me strong, I hope it can offer you a bit of peace…

    “For I know the plan I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 28:11

    (((HUGS)))


  9. There’s nothing I can say that everyone before me hasn’t already said……but know this: I AM praying for you, GiGi! God has a plan for you and your family, and tho we don’t understand His timing or His reasons, know that it is always for good. Hang in there, Baby.


  10. I just read this. I don’t know what to say. But I’d like to give you a cyberhug (((((((HUG))))). God will work it out. In His time…. He makes all things beautiful His time…. I know it’s hard to see it at this time … hang in there. I’d say a prayer for you.


  11. Give me your tears, gypsy.



Leave a comment